Dancer: Allison Smith

“What has been the modern day human experience within a worldwide pandemic? It has been a time for the textbooks. It has been an experience full of loss, grief, surprise, revolution, growth, and unity. Some have lost experiences; some have lost future plans and expectations; some have lost relationships; some have lost family and friends. What we’ve all lost, though, is our sense of control. 

    For me, I was just getting settled into my new life as a college student. I had established my friendships within a new home, finding footing for my life independent from anyone else. I was building momentum in my growth as a person. Similar to the majority, this pandemic has caused all of my established feeling of control to crumble beneath me. I found myself yearning for a routine and yearning for connections with people my age…yearning for what was taken away from me. I wasn’t able to get that, though, so I buried myself in busyness. That busyness continued after summer into my second year of college. Packing my belongings and packing my schedule, I soon had a pitfall into a point of burnout.

    Something that this pandemic has taught me, and what I have heard from others, too, is the aspect of intentional community. Even though this past year has forced us to physically isolate ourselves from others, we aren’t in this alone; we don’t need white knuckle through this alone. I’ve seen some of the most beautiful aspects of humanity shine through in this dark time. I believe this time will taint the world both negatively and positively when healing from this—but we’ll come through stronger.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started